BORDER MANAGEMENT AND IRREGULAR MIGRATION

Niger is known as a country of transit for migrants from West Africa towards the North, and for some, further to the Mediterranean. With 5,800 km of borders, state authorities face difficulties in controlling migration flows due to a lack of capacity and of infrastructure. Smuggling of illicit goods and trafficking of human beings put migrants at risk and eventually pose as well a threat to Europe’s stability.

EUCAP Sahel Niger works in close cooperation with the National Directorate of Territorial Surveillance to support the improvement of border management structures in the fight against traffickers and smugglers and those benefitting from the hardship of migrating women, men and children.

This support includes the creation and equipping of border stations and checkpoints alongside main migration routes, as well as training and strategic advice for border managers. Regular field trips to the regions enables Mission experts to explore changing migration routes and to adapt their support to the dynamic evolution of irregular migration.

Read more

Mobile Border Control Units

Since 2018, EUCAP Sahel Niger has assisted the Nigerien National Police to establish a second mobile border police unit (CMCF, which is the French acronym for “compagnie mobile de contrôle des frontières”). With 250 police officers, the CMCF is subdivided into smaller teams and operates along the Niger-Nigerian border. Their main objective: supporting the fight against terrorism and organized crime. The CMCF has been fully equipped and received a comprehensive six-months training programme by EUCAP Sahel Niger and its partners.

After several years of intensive individual training, EUCAP Sahel Niger also falls back on a network of Nigerien trainers in border management. Their practical exercises as well as training in document fraud and profiling are regularly accompanied by the Mission’s experts.

GESTION DES FRONTIÈRES ET MIGRATION IRRÉGULIÈRE

Le Niger est connu comme étant un pays de transit pour les migrants d’Afrique de l’Ouest vers le Nord, et pour certains, plus loin vers la Méditerranée. Avec plus de 5.800 km de frontière, les autorités nigériennes peinent à contrôler les flux migratoires par manque de capacité, de ressources et d’infrastructures. Le trafic illicite de biens et la traite des êtres humains mettent les migrants en danger et constituent à terme une menace pour la stabilité en Europe.

EUCAP Sahel Niger travaille en étroite collaboration avec la Direction de la Surveillance du Territoire pour soutenir l’amélioration des structures chargées de la gestion des frontières dans la lutte contre les trafiquants, les passeurs et ceux qui exploitent la vulnérabilité des hommes, femmes et enfants migrants.

Cet appui implique aussi l’installation et l’équipement de postes frontaliers le long des routes migratoires principales, ainsi que des formations et conseils stratégiques aux agents de la gestion des frontières. Des missions de terrain régulières permettent aux experts de la Mission d’explorer les nouvelles routes migratoires et d’adapter leur soutien à l’évolution dynamique de la migration irrégulière.

Lire plus

Compagnies Mobiles de Contrôle des Frontières

Depuis 2018, EUCAP Sahel Niger soutient la Police Nationale du Niger pour mettre en place une deuxième compagnie mobile de contrôle des frontières (CMCF). Avec un effectif de 250 policiers, la CMCF est subdivisée en petites équipes et opère le long de la frontière nigéro-nigériane. Son objectif principal est de combattre effacement le terrorisme et la criminalité organisée dans la région. La CMCF a été entièrement équipée et a reçu un programme de formation approfondi d’une durée de six mois dispensé par les experts de la Mission et leurs partenaires.

Après plusieurs années de formations individuelles intenses, EUCAP Sahel Niger s’appuie sur un réseau de formateurs nigériens en gestion de frontières. Leurs exercices pratiques ainsi que des formations en fraude documentaire et profilage sont régulièrement accompagnés par les experts de la Mission.