INTEROPERABILITY AND STRATEGIC ADVICE

Interoperability – in other words, the compatibility of equipment, procedures and services to enable coherent actions and cooperation by the three internal security forces is a fundamental element for the promotion of security in Niger. This approach also comprises the Nigerian Armed Forces, and thus targets the entire system of Defense and Security Forces.

On a strategic level, the Mission provides the Nigerien authorities with assistance in the implementation of the National Strategy for Internal Security (SNSI) formulated in 2017 through a respective Action Plan, which includes also the elaboration of an Internal Security Act. The Mission further engages with the National Center for Strategic Studies and Security and other partners to support the development of a National Policy for Security and Defense.

Read more

Joint actions through mobility, logistics, communication and crisis management

In practical terms, EUCAP Sahel Niger strengthens collaboration among the forces through a variety of logistics and infrastructure support with a focus on mobility as well as pooling of means and equipment.

Since 2017, the Mission has developed and equipped Regional Operational Centers (COR) in all eight regions. These CORs serve as crisis management centers for joint and coordinated action in response to major crises and counter terrorism. Additional Operational Centers for the National Gendarmerie and Regional Security Centers, providing political and strategical coordination, complete these efforts.

The Mission further accompanies trainings in crisis management for COR personnel and exercises live scenarios. The latter can also include the Nigerien Armed Forces in support of the process of Judiciarisation (see Justice, Human Rights and Gender).

Further plans are in the pipeline to reinforce communications structures through the installation of a full territory radio coverage, respective training in radio communication as well as the modernization of the Center for Signal Instructions.

Read more

INTEROPÉRABILITÉ ET CONSEIL STRATEGIQUE

L’interopérabilité, qui en d’autres termes signifie la compatibilité des équipements, des procédures et des services permettant aux trois Forces de Sécurité Intérieure d’agir ensemble est un élément essentiel pour le renforcement de la sécurité intérieure au Niger. Au sens large, l’interopérabilité cible aussi les Forces Armées Nigériennes et donc l’ensemble des Forces de Défense et de Sécurité.

A un niveau stratégique, EUCAP Sahel Niger fournit à ses partenaires nigériens une assistance pour la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie Nationale pour la Sécurité Intérieure (SNSI) formulée en 2017 par le biais d’un plan d’action qui comprend, entre autres, l’élaboration d’une Loi sur la Sécurité Intérieure. La Mission collabore également avec le Centre National d’Etudes Stratégiques et de Sécurité (CNESS) ainsi qu’avec d’autres partenaires pour soutenir le développement d’une Politique Nationale de Sécurité et de Défense.

Lire plus

Actions conjointes à travers la mobilité, la logistique, la communication et la gestion de crise

Sur un plan pratique, EUCAP Sahel Niger renforce sa collaboration avec les forces à travers des appuis à la logistique et aux infrastructures en mettant l’accent sur leur mobilité  et en recherchant la mutualisation de leurs moyens.

Depuis 2017, la Mission a installé et équipé en matériels les Centres Opérationnels dans les huit régions du Niger. Ces Centres Opérationnels Régionaux (COR) font office de centres de gestion de crise et d’anti-terrorisme et permettent aux Forces de Sécurité Intérieure de gérer les grands évènements de manière coordonnée. Les Centres Opérationnels de la Gendarmerie (COG) et les Centres Régionaux de Sécurité (CRS), visant à une coordination politique et stratégique, viennent étoffer ce dispositif.

Au titre du suivi et accompagnement, la Mission dispense des formations en gestion de crise et des grands évènements au profit des membres de droits des COR en proposant notamment des scénarii pouvant inclure l’intervention des Forces Armées Nigériennes à l’égard de la Judiciarisation (voir Justice, Droits Humains et Genre).

En outre, il est envisagé d’améliorer la communication entre les forces à travers la mise en place d’une couverture radio sur tout le territoire, de formations en communication radio ainsi que par un appui à la rénovation et à la modernisation du Centre d’Instruction des Transmissions.

Lire plus