WHAT WE DO

To strengthen Niger’s capacities in the internal security sector, the Mission carries out a variety of activities based on four pillars:

  • Training
  • Mentoring and coaching
  • Strategic advice
  • La remise d’équipements

With a non-executive mandate, EUCAP Sahel Niger mainly provides support to the Internal Security Forces, namely to the National Police, the Gendarmerie and the National Guard, in the spheres of technical and practical knowledge transfer, organizational and strategic planning and infrastructure provision. Apart from direct assistance to law enforcement structures, the Mission also supports the Nigerien Armed Forces where they provide a crucial role to internal security, the criminal law system and judicial structures, with the overall aim of facilitating access to justice and protection of human rights (see the concept of Judiciarisation in ‘Justice, Human Rights and Gender').

EUCAP Sahel Niger has built strong partnerships with state institutions, national, traditional and regional authorities, as well as with civil society, to promote a people-centered security concept.

The Mission trains and advises the Nigerien Internal Security Forces and other relevant partners in a comprehensive manner, identifies needs and donates essential equipment. In close collaboration with other EU institutions, such as the EU Delegation and the civilian sister-mission EUCAP Sahel Mali, the Mission is embedded in the EU’s integrated approach and designs its activities in a coherent manner.

With support from the Regional Advisory Coordination Cell in Mauretania (RACC), EUCAP Sahel Niger has extended its fields of intervention to other countries of the Sahel facing security challenges, such as Burkina Faso, Mauretania and Chad. To better coordinate needs and assistance, the Mission also cooperates with other international partners in the field of security including FRONTEX and Interpol.

Since 2018, EUCAP Sahel Niger increasingly uses the tool Training-of-Trainers whereby trained trainers pass on their skills and knowledge to Nigerien colleagues. In turn, the Mission enhances the focus on coaching and mentoring. This approach ensures the sustainability of the work and strengthens the local ownership of Nigerien authorities so that they can deliver these training sessions themselves. In 2020, the Mission has renewed its mandate emphazising new operational priorities.

Read more

QUE FAISONS-NOUS

Afin de renforcer le secteur de la sécurité intérieure au Niger, la Mission entreprend une variété d’activités qui reposent sur quatre piliers:

  • La formation
  • Le suivi et accompagnement
  • Le conseil stratégique
  • La remise d’équipements

Avec son mandat non-exécutif, EUCAP Sahel Niger fournit un appui notamment aux Forces de Sécurité Intérieure, à savoir la Police Nationale, la Gendarmerie Nationale et la Garde Nationale dans le cadre du transfert de connaissances pratiques et techniques, de la planification organisationnelle et stratégique ainsi que dans le renforcement des infrastructures. Outre l’assistance directe aux organes de la sécurité intérieure, la Mission soutient aussi les Forces Armées Nigériennes où elle joue un rôle important à la sécurité intérieure, ainsi que dans le système de la chaine pénale et ses structures judiciaires, avec pour objectif principal de faciliter l’accès à la justice et la protection des Droits Humains (voir le concept de Judiciarisation dans « Justice, Droits Humains et Genre).

EUCAP Sahel Niger a mis en place des partenariats forts avec les institutions de l’Etat, les autorités nationales, coutumières et régionales ainsi qu’avec la société civile en vue de promouvoir un concept sécuritaire centré sur l’humain.

La Mission dispense des formations et donne des conseils aux Forces de Sécurité Intérieure et à d’autres partenaires pertinents selon une approche globale et structurée tout en identifiant les besoins pour des appuis en équipement. En collaboration avec les institutions de l’UE telles que la Délégation de l’Union Européenne au Niger et la deuxième mission civile au Sahel, EUCAP Sahel Mali, la Mission s’inscrit dans le cadre de l’approche intégrée de l’UE et définit ses activités de façon cohérente.

Avec le soutien de la Cellule Régionale de Coordination et de Conseil basée en Mauritanie, EUCAP Sahel Niger a élargi son domaine d’intervention aux autres pays du Sahel qui font face aux défis sécuritaires, tels que le Burkina Faso et le Tchad. Pour une meilleure coordination des besoins et appuis, la Mission collabore également avec d’autres institutions internationales qui interviennent dans le secteur de la sécurité, telles que FRONTEX et Interpol.

Depuis 2018, EUCAP Sahel Niger utilise de plus en plus le principe de la formation de formateurs selon lequel des formateurs formés transfèrent les connaissances acquises à leurs collègues nigériens. De même, la Mission met l’accent sur le suivi et l’accompagnement. Cette approche assure la pérennité des actions menées et renforce leur appropriation par les autorités nigériennes afin qu’elles puissent d’elles-mêmes dispenser ces formations.

Lire plus