WHO WE ARE

EUCAP Sahel Niger is a civilian capacity-building Mission established by the European Union as part of its Common Security and Defense Policy (CSDP) with the overall aim to strengthen Niger’s internal security sector and its capacities in the fight against significant security threats. Since its opening in 2012, EUCAP Sahel Niger has supported the Nigerien Internal Security Forces, national authorities as well as non-state actors with a variety of different programs and activities.

The rise of violent extremism, organized crime, such as trafficking in drugs, arms and human beings, pose security risks to the local population and eventually to the stability in Europe. Ongoing violence and conflicts in neighboring countries, first in Mali in 2012 and later in Burkina Faso, increasingly affect Niger’s vast territories and jeopardizes the development of the country. Still, Niger lacks sufficient resources to cope with these threats.

Around 120 Europeans from security institutions and civilian entities are permanently deployed to the Mission, assist the Nigerien authorities in reinforcing the internal security sector in order to protect the local population, and ensure European security interests. EUCAP Sahel Niger is an essential element of the EU’s strategy for security and development in the Sahel and acts in close partnership and on all levels with other EU institutions and security stakeholder present in the Sahel.

In 2016, EUCAP Sahel Niger, based in the capital Niamey, established a permanent field office in Agadez to carry out its mandate in the northern region. Regular field missions to all regions also allow remotely deployed security forces to benefit from the Mission’s assistance. At present, 16 European Member States contribute to the Mission’s objectives.

Read more

A civilian Mission of the European Union

The EU Common Security and Defense Policy (CSDP) forms the baseline for all activities of EUCAP Sahel Niger. The CSDP enables the EU to take a leading role in peacekeeping operations, conflict prevention and in strengthening of international security.

QUI NOUS SOMMES

EUCAP Sahel Niger est une mission civile établie par l’Union Européenne dans le cadre de sa Politique de Sécurité et Défense Commune (PSDC). Elle a pour objectif de renforcer le secteur de la sécurité intérieure au Niger et ses capacités dans la lutte contre les menaces sécuritaires majeures. Depuis son installation en 2012, la Mission soutient les Forces de Sécurité Intérieure, les autorités nigériennes ainsi que les acteurs non-gouvernementaux au travers d’une diversité de programmes et d’activités.

La montée de l’extrémisme violent, de la criminalité organisée tels que les trafics de stupéfiants, d’armes et la traite des personnes constituent des défis sécuritaires aux populations et posent à terme des risques pour la stabilité en Europe. Les violences et conflits récurrents dans les pays voisins, notamment au Mali depuis 2012 et plus récemment au Burkina Faso aussi affectent énormément le vaste territoire nigérien et menacent sa stabilité ainsi que son développement. Toutefois, le pays manque de moyens adéquats et adaptés pour faire face à ces menaces.

Environ 120 Européens issus de forces de sécurité et d’institutions civiles sont déployés en permanence à la Mission pour appuyer les autorités nigériennes dans le renforcement du secteur de la sécurité intérieure afin de protéger les populations locales et garantir les intérêts liés à la sécurité en Europe. EUCAP Sahel Niger est un élément clé de la stratégie de l’Union Européenne pour la sécurité et le développement au Sahel. Elle travaille en partenariat et sur tout niveau avec d’autres institutions de l’UE et acteurs de la sécurité présents au Sahel.

En 2016, EUCAP Sahel Niger basée à Niamey, a ouvert une antenne à Agadez afin de mettre en œuvre son mandat dans la région du nord. Aussi, des missions régulières effectuées dans toutes les régions permettent aux Forces de Sécurité Intérieure éloignées de bénéficier du soutien de la Mission. Présentement, 16 Etats Membres de l’UE contribuent à l’atteinte des objectifs de la Mission.

Lire plus

Une mission civile de l'Union Européenne

La Politique de Sécurité et de Défense Commune (PSDC) est le socle de toutes les activités d’EUCAP Sahel Niger. La PSDC permet à l’UE d’être un acteur majeur du maintien de la paix, de la prévention des conflits et du renforcement de la sécurité internationale.